cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to structure a multiple business WM solution in SAP

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi there,

I am in a preparation phase to show our business the merits of SAP WM, replacing a third party system. As I'm new to WM I'm struggling a bit with the possible structures to use for our DC. I understand the SAP and standard WM structures however I'd like some guidance on what would be the best fit in our situation.

We run 1 Distribution Centre with several physical buildings (1 Main DC, multiple outside storage buildings for bulk storage/overflow). The DC itself is physically split into 5 sections. Each of these sections relate to a completely separate business within our organisation. As such, these 5 different businesses maintain completely separate inventories for completely different products.

The requirements for the set up are:

• Completely separated stock on hand controls in IM

• Separated purchasing

• No stock transfers between businesses (instead Goods Issue/Goods Receipt if this ever happens)

• Easy to recognise split between the 5 businesses

So far, the best I'v been able to come up with is 5 Warehouses in WM, each assigned to its own plant (and all 5 plants assigned to the same company code). Underneath the Warehouses in SAP I then use the Storage Type and section to split the internal warehouse into its appropriate sections. It's the easiest one to explain to the users (and myself!) but not ideal as we really only have 1 DC.

I've also been looking at 1 Warehouse, 1 plant, 5 (permanent) storage locations (not taking into account staging areas) but I'm unsure how to assign the storage locations to the relevant storage types. Is this at all possible?

Your help is very much appreciated!

best regards,

Cees

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,