cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAPJco 3.0.2 - Simple connection test

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi, I'm new to Java. I've read through the forum to see if this basic question was raised and solved. I can't see it so I'm guessing it's so simple that no one raised it before. I just installed the SAPJco 3.0.2 on my windows xp client. As per the documentation I added the ..\sapjco3-ntintel-3.0.2 to both the Path and CLASSPATH variables. I also ran the command line test -jar c:\..\sapjco3-ntintel-3.0.2\sapjco3.jar and got the resultant SAP screen with the info. Great, so far so good. I then go into NWDS(Eclipse) and create a new test class to test the connectivity to ECC6.0. Here is the code.

import com.sap.mw.jco.*;

public class SapRfcCall {

public static void main(String[] args) {

JCO.Client mConnection;

try {

mConnection = JCO.createClient("301", // SAP client
										       "somecoolguy", // userid
											   "****", // password
											   "EN", // language
											   "XXX", // application server host name
											   "00"); // system number

mConnection.connect();

System.out.println(mConnection.getAttributes());

mConnection.disconnect();

} catch (Exception ex) {

ex.printStackTrace();

System.exit(1);

}

}
}

Of course when I run it as an application I consistently receive these unpleasant errors

java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError
	at com.sap.mw.jco.MiddlewareJRfc$Client.connect(MiddlewareJRfc.java:1018)
	at com.sap.mw.jco.JCO$Client.connect(JCO.java:3255)
	at sapRFCcall.main(sapRFCcall.java:34)
Exception in thread "main" 

Do anyone have any suggestions as to how something so seemingly simple can go so wrong?

Thanks in advance,

Kevin

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hey Kevin,

Looking at your coding I think you just ran into a simple version problem. I.e. you're talking about SAP JCo 3.x, yet your coding is clearly requiring a JCO 2.x.