cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

User Licensing

Former Member
0 Kudos

I`m new to SAP and PHP. I have only one license for administrative purposes, I share this user with other system administrators and most of the time we`re logged in at the same time and we have to pay the cost of doing so.

If I use php calling SAP functions via RFC, can I avoid the problems of being logged at the same time? I mean, If Im logged with my user via SAP logon and other person is using SAP (with the same user) from "outside" via PHP and RFC, is the same as having 2 users logged via SAP logon? In both cases am I using the same license at the same time? Is there a way to avoid this? Thanks.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

I'm not an expert on SAP Licensing. However talking to people in the know, every distinct user of SAP is required to purchase a license. You might investigate the types of user that you can setup for your requirements.

Also I would avoid using the same account that you use to do admin to call RFC's in external scripts.

It is best to use an account which has got roles assigned to it to invoke only the RFC's you want to call in your scripts.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Jason is correct - talk to your account rep. there are more than one type of user so find out which one is best for what you want to do.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks for the advice, although I`ve only used that account for a test, I use other account now. My main problem is that I dont know if I use SAP via php and RFC logged as a valid SAP user and in the same time Im logged in SAP with that user I need an extra license. Thanks

gregorw
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hello Walter,

you always should use a special user for the SAPRFC calls. With restricted access rights and from type communication.

Regards

Gregor

Former Member
0 Kudos