Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using SOA between .net and r/3

anesh_kumar
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hi

I am new to the SOA architecture in SAP. Actually we use interface programs to transfer files between sap r/3 and .net and vice versa

i want to use the web services concept so that i can transfer the data between the .net and r/3 and vice versa

please let me know is this possible to transfer the data from .net to r/3 and vice versa using web services

it would be great if some can give me a step by step procedure to built the above process

I do appreciate your prompt response

thanks

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

SOA concept was not available in R/3 so it would not be possible to exchange data between R/3 and .Net using webservice.

You can use SAP .Net connector to connect R/3 and .Net.

SOA is available in SAP since ECC6 (even to some extent in ECC5).

Regards,

Gourav

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

It is possible to call web services in SAP R/3 4.7.

The SOAP implementation is very crude and basic but it works very well. It is just calling function modules through HTTP instead of RFC.

We have an R/3 4.7 production system where we call 60 000 web services per day...

Regards,

Olivier

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Olivier,

Is it possible to expose RFC as webservice in R/3?

I know that you can call webservice from R/3 but not vice versa, so in my opinion wherever possible use .Net connector else do the webservice call.

Regards,

Gourav

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Gourav,

>Is it possible to expose RFC as webservice in R/3?

Yes, with R/3 4.7

If you activate the /sap/bc/soap node and sub nodes in SICF.

You can call each RFC enabled function module as a web service at this URL.

To call STFC_CONNECTION as a web service you call :

http://<R/3 server>:<port>/sap/bc/soap/rfc?services=STFC_CONNECTION&sap-client=<client>&sap-user=<abap user>&sap-password=<password>

You get the WSDL at