cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to begin with customizing sap fi abap reports ?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi everyone,

I am new to ABAP. I am given a task of customizing many sap reports in FI module.

I have to customize sap standard reports. can u tell me where to begin from ? what are the various ways to do it ?

Please guide me as i am a beginner. Please give links to documents if possible.Thank you.

Regards,

Atul

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (6)

Answers (6)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Former Member

First check with standard report, if standard report is not reaches to your requirement then go for either customization / or develop new report.

Customization : check if any small changes or if you need to add 2 more column or some validation (Simple) for customization.

Develop new Report: As per your requirement develop the report, better use logical data base it will more faster than normal report for FI,HR or complex report.

Former Member
0 Kudos

I know this post is a bit older but i came across it in my search.  For anyone else looking, i think this might be what you are looking for ....

https://websmp130.sap-ag.de/sap(bD1lbiZjPTAwMQ==)/bc/bsp/spn/sapnotes/index2.htm?numm=984305 (OSS note 984305).

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks for replying guys.

I dont know where to begin from actually. I have been provided by the client the format of the reports like columns and headings of the report. Now i dont know whether i should copy the standard programs and start editing the code, or there are any tools that can be used to customize the reports ? I have just heard about some tools like ( ABAP Query, Report painter & Report writer, etc.). But i dont know anything about them. Are they even relevant to my task ? Some of the standard reports are as follows :

Assets register - S_ALR_87011990

Acqusiton Register - S_ALR_87012050

Retirement Register - S_ALR_87012052

There are more such standard reports.

Can u give me steps ?