cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ESS Travel and Expenses - Default a blank value in country

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi SDN,

ESS Travel and Expenses has Country as drop-down by Key and the drop-down comes from Backend system. Now my question is how can I edit this drop down to include a blank space by Web Dynpro component editing. The problem with my current set up is that country is defaulted to 'GB' from Backend, but this should made blank to make the users choose country for every entry.

I am new to WebDynpo, so please give me some code samples for any similar case, where the drop-down is bound to a backend RFC field. This filed has to be edited from WebDynpro.

Thanks,

Vamshi

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

susmita_panigrahi
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hi

If your text property of the Dropdown UI element is bound to the model node and your are calling the BAPI in the controller then write the following code in WdDoinit() menthos of iView:

try

{

wdThis.wdGetXXXController().GetYYY();//calling the controller method where you are executing the BAPI for the Drop down value.XXX is the controller name and YYY is the methos name

wdContext.nodeZZZ().setLeadSelection(-1); //ZZZ is the name of the model node which is bind to Text property of the drop down UI element and -1 means when the dropdown will be loaded it will show the blank space as a 1st element in the drop down

} catch(Exception ex)

{

wdComponentAPI.getMessageManager().reportException("Unable to get the Dropdown Values. Please check the server logs. ",true);

ex.printStackTrace();

}

Thanks

Susmita

former_member197348
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Vamshi,

Try like this:

If you can identify the model node and attribute bind for this dropdown, after RFC call (mostly in wdDoInit() method of the view), add this piece of code.

IPrivate<viewname>.I<modelnode>Element ele = wdContext.create<modelnode>Element(new <RFC structure name>());