Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Difference between Single & Derived Role

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

What is the difference between single role and Derived Role?

I have little bit knowledge on these single & Derived roles.

My requirement is i have to created a single role for Creation of Material Master (T-Codes: MM01, MM02, MM03, MMSC)

when i am giving the authoriztions it asks for the Organizational levels.

How can i assign these org levels in that single role? These org levels are to be assigned into the derived role which is derived from master role.

If i maintain Full authorizations in single role if by mistake if it is assigned to user id he will have the full auth and it would be a big problem.

So, without maintaining the Org Levels in Single role how can i proceed?

How to resolve this?

Regards,

Kumar Rayudu

7 REPLIES 7

Bernhard_SAP
Employee
Employee
0 Kudos

Hi Kumar,

please refer to the documentation about derived roles:

http://help.sap.com/saphelp_nw70/helpdata/en/1c/c38028816c11d396bc0000e82de14a/frameset.htm

So create a single role with the required transactions in the menue. Maintain the authoriaztions as required. Leave the org.-level fields empty (button 'Org.level').

Then create the derived roles, enter the first created single role in the filed 'derive from role' on the description tab.

menu and authorizations will be copied to that new role. You need only to maintain the org.level fields for that role. Proceed with further derived roles.

b.rgds, Bernhard

0 Kudos

Hi Bernhard,

I have just tested in my IDES server and i created a single role with required authorizations and i have not maintained the organization levels in that single role.

Is this is the correct procedure to leave the Org Levels blank?