cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using XI for connecting to Time Recording Terminal

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All

Basically i am a HR consultant, with no knowledge of XI. I have this query.

If there are time recording terminals to record employee Log in and Log out times and these data are made available as a flat file in a server. (may be SQL database). Then is it possible through XI, access this data and populate the data in some Z tables in R3 and also populate some table in the SQL database with values from R3.

Is this possible through XI, without writing an interface. Or do we have to write an interface program.

If we have to write an inetrface program then whats the use of XI.

Regards

Tinku

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

you can do this scenario without "writing" an interface. XI is able to do this "out of the box" of course you need to implement the scenario using the standard adapters (JDBC for DB / tRFC or ALE or PROXY for Z-tables in R/3).

Regards,

Kai

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Kai

Thanks for the reply. So from SAP to SQL, DB adapter will be used to pass on Data from R3 to SQL. That means DB adapter will be doing the data conversions or mapping and for the reverse direction ALE / Proxy adapter will be doing the dataconversion / mapping, and for this it will create the Idoc , which will update the R3.

My understanding is right ?

Regards

Tinku

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

yes. You would have 2 sceanrios - asynchron I asume:

1) SAP to SQL

SAP system will give the data via ALE and IDoc or PROXY to XI and XI does the mapping and conversion and then pushes the data to SQL using JDBC adapter.

2) DB to SAP

XI JDBC adapter fetches the Data from DB and after conversion and mapping the data will be given back to SAP system using ALE and IDoc or PROXY.

This is doable by XI and my understanding of your requirement!

Kai

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,