cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Solution Manager upgrade issue on Linux

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Alll,

Need your inputs/thoughts on this issue.

We are planning for Solution Manager upgrade from 3.1 to 4.0 and for this the setup and plan is as below:

The production data of the solution manager has been copied as a VMX FILE(VM Player) file on to a test server and we have plans to upgrade that and check and then upgrade on the production system.

The test machine has got a different IP address and hostname. From the test machine when I start the sap instance its affecting the Production machine and dueto which the production will not work until I stop the SAP Instance on the test machine.

It cannot be a IP conflict or hostname conflict as we have them differently on the test machine. But still there is an issue. The IT dept says the issue is with the starting up of the instance and we dont know where to see what exactly is the problem.

I am new to upgradation stuffs, this is my 1st assignment and I am not sure from where to start!!

Can anyone of you tell me where to check for the details?

SOLMAN is installed on a unix machine with oracle 9.2 and we are planning to upgrade it to SOLMAN 7.0

any suggestions on where to look out for the possible issue?

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

How did you copy the system? If you copied Database and SAP folders then you should change the SID profiles to point to the new hostname.

By the way and just a curiosity, why are you going to upgrade Solman and not just install it from scratch and configure again everything?.

As per your actual configuration if you plan to upgrade you need to check the OS version and upgrade Oracle to 10.2.0.2 at least before actually starting the upgrade process.

Good luck

Former Member
0 Kudos

The IT has given us the VMX file which has the production data.

We are using VM ware.