cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie EP development questions

yguan
Explorer
0 Kudos

Hello EP Experts, I’m new to EP, please help me with my questions. The scenario is my company is in the process of implementing MSS with EP 6, ECC5.0. We will hire remote consultants to do some custom developments (iViews) but our internal resources will be supporting them going forward. We have identified Web Dynpro for Java is our choice of development tool. My questions are:

1. For development, what kind of development landscape does your company use or prefer? Does your company install Portal and NWDS on each developer’s PC for development and testing, then deploy to a centralize Portal for user testing? or only install NWDS on developer’s PC and testing against a centralized Portal? What is the best approach?

2. We want to learn Web Dynpro for Java ,what do you suggest in SAP training courses? Has anyone attended EP150(Java Development for the SAP Enterprise Portal and KM), or JA310(Web Application Development – Java)? Which one is more relevant to learn Web Dynpro?

3. Is knowing Web Dynpro for Java enough to develop and deploy custom iViews or do we need to learn other tools and skillsets?

Since I’m new to EP I might not even asking the right questions, so please let me know if I need to know anything else.

Thank you very much.

Yan Guan

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

1) Mostly companies have a central server with SAP EP and NWDS on developer machinces.

The main thing with having EP on all systems is you have to get license for all the instances.

If you go for the sneak preview, then you will not get all the features in it.

If all the developer PC's have 1GB RAM[512MB RAM is not enough] then you can have EP and NWDS on the same system.[This setup helps if the developer is trying things like modifying the default framework page, the results will not be visible to all users.