cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

passing serialized xml to crystal for distributed c# app

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am new to Crystal reports and I am investigating a Visual Studio 2008 .NET C# solution for my WPF application. I would like to create a dll that holds all of the Crystal rpts and schema and simply invoke a function calling a specific report with the data serialized to xml string. The output should be a PDF file. I would like to have this library be referenced in any of my applications to allow my application to call by initializing and calling the functuon passing in these two parameters. I also do not want to include anything in the GAC because I simply want no deployment issues using OneClick.

I would appreciate it any adivce in this area.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

I wrote and deployed the web service and it is working fine. There is only one problem. It takes forever to initialize. I suspect it is taking awile for Crystal to load. any ideas?

former_member208657
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Be more specific. How long is forever to you? 10 seconds? 30 seconds? 5 minutes?

If this is a long running report then it is very possible for this to export completely to PDF format. You'll want to run this report in the Crystal Reports designer and export it to PDF format. That will give you a benchmark to compare to. We won't guarantee that the Crystal Reports .NET engine will do it just as fast, but you'll at least know what to expect when exporting via your web service.

How large is the PDF file that you are producing?

How long does it take to execute the Export() method in the web service? You can add some logging code to find out.

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos