cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

sharingreference and jar?

Former Member
0 Kudos

hi,

i am new to portal development and have a couple of questions.

i wrote a program and it is expecting a jar file named for example umapi.jar. so i included this jar in the javabuild path of the project and compiled it. also i found that we should mention this in PORTALAPP.XML file as follows:

sharingreference="usermanagement"

how could i know that the alias for umapi.jar is usermanagement.

for example if i am using PRTCORESERVICE.jar for source code compilation, what should i put in sharingreference?

any tips and tricks?

thanks

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Dan_Wroblewski
Developer Advocate
Developer Advocate
0 Kudos

Hi,

I apologize if this has already been answered, but I just wanted to add something.

When you are using a portal API, you are using Java code from an existing portal application (generally a portal service).

• If you want to use Java code from another portal application during runtime, the Portal Runtime needs to know this. Therefore, you must put a reference to this other application in your portalapp.xml. Once you put this reference, you can call any public Java code in this other application.

• In order to be able to compile your portal project, you need the JAR file in your classpath.

As for your original question, about knowing the alias:

Hope this alll helps.

Daniel

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

Thank you all for your replies. I am sorry, if my question was not clear. I understand the importance of portalapp.xml and sharingreference in portalapp.xml, what i dont get is

i created a project and am using a class file. when the class file is not found, i use classlocator to find out the jar file. i copied *.jar from server and put in a folder and set the classlocator path to that.

so my project compiles sucessfully.

\but my concern is what is the value that i use in the sharingreferences field.