Skip to Content

Archived discussions are read-only. Learn more about SAP Q&A

Portal Development via NWDI / massive ShowStoppers

Hi there,

we are just evaluating to use the NWDI for our internal portal application development. I have come across several issues I would consider as massive showstoppers, and as far as I have read within this forum, others sometimes have come across the same issues without a solution - or just are not doing that intensive portal development we do (and so are not aware how massive some issues can be).

Anyhow, I'm relatively new to this combination, and it may be (I would be glad) that I'm overlooking something (or many things ).

(a) Creating a DC of type Portal Application Module does not offer the direct deployment into the DEV defined in the track (in addition, it has a bug which doesn't even allow the PAR deployment, see Problems deploying Portal Application Module DC - for which I just opened an OSS message). Even it the PAR deployment would work, I cannot see any advantages using this kind of DC within the whole NWDI (see problem (c) as explicit disadvantage; I think using for example DTR solely (or CVS) would be the preferrable in this case).

(b) Creating a DC of type Portal Application Standalone doesn't offer the deployment of the PAR into a local system (when choosing Export PAR, such a DC / project isn't offered as project to choose - from which a PAR should be created / eventually deployed). But we definitely want to use local dev systems, that cannot be discussed - and this is also a strategy SAP officially suggests! But I see no way to reach this (and it is not acceptable to manually deploy the PAR from the temp dir...).