Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sending an XML FIle to an IDOC

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi

I am new to PI .

Can you please guide me gow to configure my file adapter if i have to pick a xml file from a legacy system folder and post into an IDOC ??

What do I need to do in the design steps ? i hope i dont have to use a file content conversion,in the configuration.

Do i need a XSD from the legacy people or can i simply read the xml without it ? .. what are the situatons where XSD is required ?

Thanks

Edited by: sd on Jun 12, 2009 11:03 AM

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member200962
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

FILE to IDOC: https://www.sdn.sap.com/irj/scn/wiki?path=/display/xi/fileToIDOC&

Regards,

Abhishek.

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

former_member200962
Active Contributor
0 Kudos
i hope i dont have to use a file content conversion,in the configuration.

FCC not neede until you are receing the file in XML format....if it is a CSV file then you need to have a FCC in the Sender File Channel

Do i need a XSD from the legacy people or can i simply read the xml without it ? .. what are the situatons where XSD is required ?

You need to know the structure of the XML file that will be sent by the legacy system...this is needed to create a DataType in Integration repository....however when testing you need a XML File...

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi

thanks a lot for your reply ..

Is there a blog that explains how to send XML File to and IDOC

i think the only difference between the one u have sent me is that it uses a text file .. right ? so i am hoping the only dfference will be that the protocol will not be FCC , rest everything ist he same .. right ?

and in the Data tpe and message types the structure will be according to the xml file coming

i have been given a sample xml file but n XSD is it ok ?