cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating a Universe condition to check for date being in the current month

Former Member
0 Kudos

I have a field in one of my Universe tables, (SF_Opportunity) called CloseDate. The field has a datetime definition and the data displays as 10/16/2009 12:00:00 AM. I want to create a condition on the SF_Opportunity table in my Universe which will allow me to easily query (in WebI) only those SF_Opportunity records which have a CloseDate within the current month.

I'm very new to Universe Designer and I've found no documentation which explains how to accomplish this.

Could anyone provide an example of how I do this?

Many thanks...

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Alan,

I copied your SQL code into the "where" section of Universe Condition window, but it didn't parse. Knowing very little about SQL, I couldn't troubleshoot it. At this stage, I'd be happy with an example of how to create a condition which selects only records having a CloseDate more than 60 days from today.

Thanks...

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi David,

Sorry about the quality of the solution, as I said I do not have SQL Server on this side so I am going to struggle with the exact syntax.

=@Select('YourClass\CloseDate') >= DateAdd(Day, -60, GetDate())

and if that does not do it try

=@Select('YourClass\CloseDate') >= DateAdd('Day', -60, GetDate())

This uses the location of your CloseDate object.

Let me know how you get on.

Regards

Alan

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi David,

A simpler approach for the month would be:

dbo.SF_Opportunity.CloseDate BETWEEN 
(CONVERT(datetime, CONVERT(varchar(6), GetDate(), 112)+'01', 112))
AND 
(DATEADD(m,1,CONVERT(datetime, CONVERT(varchar(6), GetDate(), 112)+'01', 112))-1)

The second line conters the date to teh format YYYYMMDD (thats the 112), then truncates the DD and adds 01 instead before converting it back