cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding new fields to an SIS Structure

Former Member
0 Kudos

We need to add new structure fields to SIS structure S504. The source table is MCVKENNZ1 which has an include MCVKUSR with our custom fields in it. It won't let me add new fields to that Include without registering the object. I don't think that's the way I'm supposed to do it. I was thinking the way to do it was to create an append to that MCVKUSR and add the new fields and then modify MC22 and I guess the update rules.

I'm new to SIS and I've been asked to do this quickly. Can you tell me the process and the transaction codes that I need to deal with to get these new fields in S504

Thank you.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Jelena
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

The SIS structures with numbers 501-999 are customer-defined, so your S504 exists only in your system - just FYI.

The SIS structures may be changed in MC22 transaction, but the new fields may be added only from a catalog. If you're adding some brand new Z... fields you'll need to add the fields to the catalog first. I don't believe it's necessary to modify the above mentioned tables. If I remember correctly, you need to add a Z... field to the source document table (e.g. VBAP for sales orders) and from there it will be copied to the communication structure (MCVBAP) as well.

The catalog may be changed in MC19 transaction (MC18 if you need to create a brand new one). If you're adding some fields that do not exist in any document (e.g. you're planning to calculate the value in a formula inside SIS), then it may be done there, I believe.

Please keep in mind that if you're adding a characteristic, the data will be deleted. You will also have to delete and re-create the update definitions. This might not be necessary if you're adding a key figure, but I'm not 100% sure.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thank you for your response.