cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Changing approver of active work item in n-step workflow

mh97
Contributor
0 Kudos

Is there a standard approach with the n-step approval workflow (WS14000133), to re-route a work item that is in one user's inbox, when that user has been replaced in the approval chain?

We are using SRM 5.0. I am new to SRM and the n-step workflow but otherwise very familiar with SAP Workflow. Normally with an organizational assignment in a SAP workflow step, I would simply "re-execute agent rules", and that is a task I might be able to assign to an administrative user outside IT. But it appears with the n-step workflow, because the agent is determined in a prior step and passed to the approval step by a container element, that this process first requires editing the container in the technical view of the work item. I don't think that we would give that capability outside of IT.

Does SRM have a standard way of handling this other than editing the container?

Thanks,

Margaret

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

former_member186746
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Margaret,

In the case of users not working anymore or a similar situation SAP has provided us with the transaction SWIA

Here you are allowed to forward the workitem to someone else (it's the fifth button from the left called Administrator forward Shift F12)

Alternatively you could use a replacement for the user, either from his own inbox (SBWP) goto menupath

Settings>Workflow settings>maintain substitute

Or you can use FM RH_SUBSTITUTES_LIST to do it for the user.

Kind regards, Rob Dielemans

mh97
Contributor
0 Kudos

Rob,