Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi vani,

I am new to SAP,

I would like to know how to create and Manage Master data in SAP R/3

This is SAP MDM forums, which is a tool provided by SAP for cretion and managing the Master data. It is not a part of SAP R3. However, answering your question, we can create Master data in R3 as well, however when we do the same with SAP-MDM, it gives us lot many features which are essential in todays world to efficiently create and manage Master Data.

Key features of MDM which are:

1. Governance - Authorization with proper roles and users and use of Workflows.

2. Single Version of truth: In case you have multiple systems, then rather than maintaining Master data local to each systems, MDM helps us in maintaining Master data at a global level and then is passed on to every local system, thus helps in maintaining Single version of truth.

3. De-duplication - master data can be also duplicate in certain cases, where MDM gets in a feature of Matching and Merging, which helps us to identify duplicates.

Now for ex, a Material record is created in ECC by using transaction - MM01 and edited and viewed by7 transactions MM02 and MM03. And then you can feed it data for all the views of a material.

However, there are not enough and advanced features in ECC to handle master data when it comes to Complex landscapes, mergers and acquistions, Efficient reporting.

MDM gets in a lot of features with it.

Hope this info helps.

Thanks and Regards

Nitin jain

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Nitin,

Thanks for your answere.

I would like to know how to create master data for in R/3 for cost center,profit center,General Ledger ,vendor and Customer.

Regards

former_member208981
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Vani,

To create master data in R/3, please go to the T-code MM01.

Here you need to select the details as per the category in which the material falls.