Skip to Content

Archived discussions are read-only. Learn more about SAP Q&A

What makes a blog post - and what should?

When I complained about my first blog post being rejected as more-suitable-for-the-wiki, Craig Cmehil explained to me that step-by-step/howto posts had been determined to be wiki material, and opinion/strategy for blogs. He also said that I could start a thread and see if there was consensus for changing the standards.

A little background: I've been blogging for 8 years, posting a mix of personal and technical topics at http://blog.donnael.com/. Some of the technical stuff has been short sample programs -- one-liners, regexps, etc. Some of it's been longer comments on products, or while-it's-happening documentation of a project attempt.

I posted the following blog entry for consideration.

-

Greetings! My name is Garrett Fitzgerald, and I work at Penobscot Community Health Care, a Federally Qualified Health Center in Bangor, Maine. We use GE's Centricity practice management and medical records systems, and I use various tools to access the data -- one of the most useful of which is Crystal Reports 2008.

One thing I commonly need to do is to list all patients, but call out a specific diagnosis that some of them have. If I were to add the tables in the database expert, even if I were to use a Left Join to get all the patients, I would lose them as soon as I tried to use the Record Selection criteria to get the specific diagnoses I needed.

My solution to this is to use a SQL Command. When I go into the Database Expert and select my Connection, instead of choosing the tables, I can use "Add Command", and enter the SQL query directly.

A typical SQL query would look like this:

SELECT Person.pId, Person.firstName AS patFirst, Person.lastName AS patLast
        , Problem.onsetDate as refusedDate
    FROM Person
        LEFT JOIN Problem ON Person.pId = Problem.pId
    WHERE Problem.code BETWEEN 'ICD-V64.02' AND 'ICD-V64.08'