cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

.NET - JAVA Environments for BOEXI

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi

I am new to BusinessObjects, we are planning to busy license of BusinessObjects Enterprise XI 3.1, and we are planning to setup the BOEXI 3.1 setup. I am confusing that, what is >NET and JAVA environments. When i tried to find some infromation on SDN, there is found that these environments. Could any clarify me that how these environments helps us. Could any one please answer these:

Is BOEXI 3.1 is enough to setup a server or do we need .NET or JAVA?

What is .NET or JAVA Environment?

Do we need to buy .NET, and do we need to install .NET on BOEXI 3.1 server? (.NET Environment)

Do we need to buy JAVA and do we need to install JAVA on BOEXI 3.1 server? (JAVA Environment)

BOEXI 3.1 is enough to work on all the tools then why we need .NET or JAVA and who they help?

Thanks & Regards

Ramakrishna Kamurthy

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

HI,

Is BOEXI 3.1 is enough to setup a server or do we need .NET or JAVA?

If you want to use the .NET Infoview (a custom interaction tool to interact with BOE) then you need to have .NET framework. If java then you do not need anything. However these are provided with the product setup.

What is .NET or JAVA Environment?

The Infoview is provided in .NET and Java for users using IIS or Tomcat. Also BOE sdks are provided to use them in .NET or JAVA based allocations to create any customized application.

Do we need to buy .NET, and do we need to install .NET on BOEXI 3.1 server? (.NET Environment)

Well, if you want to create a customized application in.NET then you need to have Visual Studio.

Do we need to buy JAVA and do we need to install JAVA on BOEXI 3.1 server? (JAVA Environment)

Java SDKs are also available in the setup.

BOEXI 3.1 is enough to work on all the tools then why we need .NET or JAVA and who they help?