cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dynamic Columns

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am new to crystal reports. I have a report in actuate which needs to be converted to crystal reports. This report is based on the dynamic parameters it takes, it creates a dynamic sql and display the report output with columns which are dynamic. so in this report, the sql and the columns are generated dynamically. Say for one set of parameters, i can have 4 columns to be display and for another set of parameters , ihave 6 columns to display. Just wondering if this can be done in crystal reports.

Thanks,

Kiran

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Kiran,

Assuming that you have already created the parameters that these dynamic columns will depend on:

1. Right click the heading of the column that you want to make dynamic and select "Format Field"

2. In the resulting "Format Editor" dialog box check the "Suppress" option and click the "X+2" button beside it to define the formula

3. In the resulting Formula Editor dialog specify an If condition similar to this

if {?Parameter1}="Yes" then true else false;

In your report replace parameter and value as required. click ok and close.

4. Repeat steps on other columns.

Regds,

Ryan

Edited by: Ryan Moore on Apr 15, 2009 3:51 PM

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos