cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

web service info needed

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I am new to WebService concept. I was asked to create a function on our R3 system to call a webservice to fetch and process the data on that remote system. Is this possible and how? I have gone through the SAP tutorial to create an RFC fm and publish a WebService from it. Is it any different from the application I have to create?

Thx in advance and best regards,

Ali

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

If you really have an R/3 system (not ECC), it is possible to call a web service but it is not supported and not recommended because you cannot create a proxy and you have to code the call at low level.

If you really want to take this risky path check

[Basic Web Service Call|http://help.sap.com/saphelp_47x200/helpdata/en/2d/64d023e74911d6b2e400508b6b8a93/frameset.htm]

The real client proxy is possible since WAS 6.40.

We had this same need with R/3 4.7 and what we did was to write a .NET "RFC to Web service connector" using the SAP .NET connector.

It works great and when we will upgrade to ECC6 we waill be able to get rid of this "connector".

Regards,

Olivier

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Olivier,

Thx for the answer. I also checked Thomas Jung's article on consuming web service with ABAP. We have SAP 6.0 so I think there won't too much technical problem.

Regards,

Ali

Former Member
0 Kudos

Is this a serious question?

Are you seriously asking us if Consuming a Webservice is conceptually the same as Running a Webservice ?

Sometimes this makes me cry....

Former Member
0 Kudos

And then come the answers totally unrelated to the question...

Sometimes this makes me cry again...I think I am goin to apply for a mod job...

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Anton,

Apologies for any wrong doings.

But can you kindly throw some more light on?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,