Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

webservice to a webdynpro

harikrishnan_m
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hi,

Is there relation between webservice and webdynpro in ABAP..I mean how can we use these two together for achieving a user interface program...?????

I have very little knowledge in Web Service....!!! Excuse if this makes no sense...

Thanks,

ABAPer 007

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

There is no particular relation between a webservice and webdynpro in ABAP

A webservice is nothing a business logic made available over internet based/web browser based UI technology.

Webdynpro in ABAP is a tool to develop web based user interfaces.

So let us say you want to carry out a transaction code of sap using Web based UI, you will have a webservice for it which will be consumed from Webdynpro ABAP.

You will develop screens in Webdynrpo ABAP which will have input fields which will sent data to webservice (as required). In this way you will carry out a business logic.

Please revert for further queries

harikrishnan_m
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hi,

Thanks for poviding a catchy point...

I would like to tell my understanding.. So webservice is an architecture to develop UI technology and Web Dynpro a tool which utilizes this architecture to effectively explore UI technology....( Correct me if i am wrong ? )

I developed one Web Dynpro program which takes some input and provides output based on it in another VIEW. Hence whether i can say I developed a Webservice ? Why this doubt is, i developed a Webservice using ABAP transaction SE80 and attached a Function Group to it....But interesting thing is !!! how i should proceed further to test or consume it !!!!!! If i can able to create a Web Service then my first sentence is completely wrong..That is Web service itself is a tool for UI.

Please provide your valuable inputs so that i can proceed further....

Thanks again for your answer.....

Regards,

Hari