cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Choice Between IDOC and ABAP Proxy

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello All,

We are building a Bi Directional Interface for Business partners between a third Party ERP, XI and SAP CRM.

We are looking for some advise on the best way to go forward between the two options below:

a) Do an ABAP Proxy Call on Fn Module CRMXIF_PARTNER_SAVE from XI

b) Create and IDOC in CRM

( Message Type CRMXIF_PARTNER_SAVE_M )

Not being an XI consultant, my understanding is as follows

Option A : Gives me the flexibility to format my response in the manner we like. But this is a synchronous call. Also this is a generated RFC. So changes in the XIF layer of CRM could be an issue.

Option B : Response can be achieved only through the ALE Audit Functionality, which has a predefined message structure. For Eg: If I wanted to send the response in the same format as the incoming message with an added segment for the error, this is not possible. Ofcourse, I get all the functionalities of monitoring and Handling IDOCs in this option.

Any thoughts on the advantages and disadvantages of each option would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Anoop

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

bhavesh_kantilal
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Annop,

Just atke a look at this blog. It addresses the same inssue in a broader sense,

/people/ravikumar.allampallam/blog/2005/08/14/choose-the-right-adapter-to-integrate-with-sap-systems

Regards,

Bhavesh

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks Bhavesh.

Went through the BLOG, found it useful.

The BLOG recommends using an IDOC for asynchronous communication. But my question is what happens if I have to send a response back ( could be sync or async )to the Sender system once the IDOC message has been processed.