cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

XI to MDM transition , Kindly help

Former Member
0 Kudos

Experts !

I have been working in SAP XI (now PI) for close to 3 years and would like to move on to SAP MDM

request you to kindly guide me to a starting point and help me resove these doubts.

a) What is the basic technology pre requisite to learn MDM ( java or smthing else )

b) I am not that good with Java coding , is that a problem?

c) conceptually how dificult it is to learn with a little hands on and not an actual project experience.

kindly respond !

sd

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi SD,

What is the basic technology pre requisite to learn MDM ( java or smthing else )

- MDM is a configuration driven tool , any such mandatory prerequisite is not required to learn MDM.However a basic understanding of ABAP or Java will definitely be helpful in integrating MDM with others systems.

I am not that good with Java coding , is that a problem?

- It is not a problem ,as i mentioned earlier it will be an added advantage if you know java.

conceptually how dificult it is to learn with a little hands on and not an actual project experience

- Conceptually you will understand MDM well if you go through the SAP MDM ref guides which will guide you in learning MDM.You can then start using those concepts with hands on which will help you gain some more confidence in the subject.later you can gradually move on to doing scenario using SAP MDM which will make you proficient in MDM.

There are 4 main books on MDM which will tell you all about MDM they are:

- MDM Console Reference Guide

- MDM Data Manager Reference Guide

- MDM Import Manager Referenc Guide

- MDM Syndiactor Reference guide

You can refer these guides from the belwo link:

http://help.sap.com/saphelp_mdm550/helpdata/en/43/D7AED5058201B4E10000000A11466F/frameset.htm (mdm ref guides)

Hope It Helped

Thanks & Regards

Simona Pinto

Former Member