Did you mean: 

Digital Signature & Encryption for PDF

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Experts,

Bearing in mind the following:

I'm very new to SAP XI & Security...

Scenario:

I'm trying to put together a solution for a customer whereby they require that SAP SD Invoices be Digitally Signed and encrypted and then mailed out to a customer. They are considering 2 options, do it in ABAP stack or do it through XI. They are currently doing the invoices in SAP SD, creating the invoice as a PDF & then mailing it to the customer. Regulations stipulate that these invoice PDF's must be digitally signed and encrypted.

SAP SD ---> Invoice (PDF) ---> External Customer <Current Procedure>

I've gone through many, many blogs & downloaded a lot of PDF's from SDN relating to this subject but it seems like they are all missing the mark somewhat with my requirement. It could be because I don't understand it too well.

With this in mind, please advise on the following:

- What is the right way to do this? (ABAP or XI)

- In either case, please provide step-by-step approach.

- If XI is used, how will the invoice data get to XI? IDoc?

One possible solution was blog: [https://www.sdn.sap.com/irj/scn/weblogs?blog=/pub/wlg/6485] [original link is broken] [original link is broken] [original link is broken];

But that is signing the message. I need to actual PDF document signed.

Thanks, Trevor

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks for the feedback guys. Joel, the link tells me what is possible not how to achieve it. Where do I start? I've even been exploring the iText library as a possible solution but that would mean me re-inventing the wheel & re-creating the PDF in XI & formatting it the way it's currently done in ABAP.

Can I receive the PDF somehow (SMTP Adapter) from ABAP & then digitally sign that PDF attachment in XI & then mail it out to external customer? Or am I using the wrong approach?

Thanks, Trevor

JoelTrinidade
Active Contributor