cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PI authentication with Logon Tickets

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am investigating the different security options available in the following synchronous scenario:

non-SAP system -> PI 7.1 -> ECC 6.0

Has anyone implemented Logon Tickets to authenticate into PI (as opposed to basic http authentication with userid/password) in a similar scenario where the sender was not an SAP system?

If so, some questions:

- what performance overhead did you experience? was it a significant overhead?

- which system in your landscape issued the logon tickets? Was it your PI system?

Any help would be appreciated as I'm new to the option of Logon tickets but I think it is exactly what we need because SSL is not necessarily required and password is not required to access PI but please correct me if I am wrong.

Regards,

JM

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

what performance overhead did you experience? was it a significant overhead? - There is no significant overhead on using Logon Tickets.

which system in your landscape issued the logon tickets? Was it your PI system? - If you use Logon Tickets, then PI system will issue a Logon Ticket for a Non-SAP - PI - ERP scenario.

I'm new to the option of Logon tickets but I think it is exactly what we need because SSL is not necessarily required and password is not required to access PI - See for accessing PI, you will need a proper User with its password to access the Service exposed by PI to the non-SAP application. Then using Logon ticket, you can send the same user to SAP ERP system.

Regards,

Rajeev Gupta

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

JoelTrinidade
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi JM,

A shot in the dark !! What i gather is that you are hinting at Principal Propagation in SAP NetWeaver Process Integration.

Rgds

joel

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,