Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BAPI or RFC Required to in ABAP webdynpro

former_member192283
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I am new to the ABAP webdynpro. But i have experience in JAVA webdynpro. In JAVA WD , will access the back system functionality using RFC. But if comes to ABAP WD, is it required the RFC or BAPI?

If required why it is required? what is the advantage of using the BAPI or RFC in ABAP webdynpro? Because ABAP WD is running on the same system.

If not required ? what is the advantages of with out using BAPI's

Please let me know what are pros and cons for the using the BAPI or RFC in ABAP WD.

Regards

Vijay

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (4)

Answers (4)

thomas_jung
Developer Advocate
Developer Advocate
0 Kudos

BAPIs are still a good place to start even though you shouldn't feel that you are restricted to only their usage. BAPIs are good objects to use becuase generally they are well documented, are released and intended for usage by customers and are version controlled over releases. This makes them stable and easier to find.

However when working with WDA you also have access to all the enterprise services, any function module (not just remote enabled ones), any classes, and actually you can perform SQL statements directly in your WDA code as well. I don't recommend the last item as it is a bit of a violation of the MVC design model. Instead you should place your custom SQL statements into a class of your own and call that class from WDA.

However this close integration also means the easy reuse of all those data dictionary objects and their language elements. Data Dictionary search helps also come in very handy. I think you will find that developing with WDA is quite different from the aspect of the closeness to the underlaying business logic and data.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi vijay,