cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What are the meaning of XI, PI and BI?

Former Member

Hi all,

I am new in this world and I am trying to understand basics concept, but I cannot understand the meaning of these "XI" "BI" and "PI" (and I don't know if I am missing some of them!). I cannot understand what are these? I don't mean what they do, or their capabilities ... I mean: what is XI (PI BI)? is a component ? are they modules? are they versions? are they connected? If I have one of them can I have one more ? can I upgrade one to one other?

I know it's impossible to answer to this question in a post ... I am looking for a document that explains an overview on this concept I would like to understand.

Thanks in advance.

Gabriele

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member

Hi,

XI :-SAP Exchange Infrastructure (SAP XI) enables you to implement cross-system processes. It enables you to connect systems from different vendors (non-SAP and SAP) in different versions and implemented in different programming languages (Java, ABAP, and so on) to each other. SAP Exchange Infrastructure is based on an open architecture, uses open standards (in particular those from the XML and Java environments) and offers those services that are essential in a heterogeneous and complex system landscape:

● Modeling and design of messages, transformations, and cross-component integration processes

● Configuration options for managing collaborative processes and message flow

● Runtime for message and process management

● Adapter Engine for integrating heterogeneous system components

● Central monitoring for monitoring message flow and processes

SAP XI supports internal company scenarios and cross-company scenarios.