cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

certificated RFID reader

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello experts,

i am new to AII and have some experience with RFID. I heard, that there are some SAP certificated RFID readers, but i dont find anything about on the SAP Websites.

Could you please give me a list of certificated RFID-Readers (vendors +

types)?

Or it is possible to plug any RFID-Reader at the infrastructur of AII?!?

Thanking you in advance.

Regards,

Martin

Edited by: Martin Roth on Feb 9, 2009 12:19 PM

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

There are no SAP certified RFID readers.

SAP has given the responsibility of development of the device management layer in RFID to its certified partners.

This device management layer acts as a middleware between RFID Hardware and SAP AII sitting on a Device Controller which is a physical machine with device middleware(In case of fixed devices)

So any device middleware that can communicate to SAP AII in its desired format which is PML/ALE/Web Services can talk to SAP AII

The SAP Partnership is thus defined for the device middleware and not directly on RFID readers.

The only form of readers that SAP AII directly supports now are the mobile readers (not fixed) and the

vendors for the same are Intermec, Motorola and Zebra. These may be mobile readers or readers having SAP AII embedded into them as applications that enables direct integration.

Find more information on:

http://www.zebra.com/id/zebra/na/en/documentlibrary/misc/rfid_printing_solutions.File.tmp/Zebra_RFID...

http://www.rfida.com/2005/10/intermec-rfid-sap-aii-netweaver-direct.htm

http://www.logcentre.org/events/AutoEventPrague.pdf

It is possible to plug any RFID reader to SAP AII.?

There are two cases:

1) Mobile Devices - Directly possible yes if it can talk XML based messages to SAP AII