cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Seperate storage server

Former Member
0 Kudos

i am new to DMS configuation, and now I have a task to enable DMS service. My situration is the SAP server space seems not very well, can i set files stoarge in another storage location. Thanks!

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

hi,

Its depend uopn usage and document generation capacity. You can go for content server - for effective use of DMS and if data generation is large in volume or can use SAP database - if there is uage of DMS at normal level and data generation is less in capacity.

Please let me as i m unable to understand your query completely.

Regards,

Pramod

Please award pts if its useful / need further information.

Former Member
0 Kudos

That mean I can setup a server, which only store document. And then point to that server in config. That will no affect the current database capacity. Am I right?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

For storage of documents thru DMS, you can use either SAP Database, Vault, thru this the load on the database increases..

in order to prevent this problem you can go for setting up of external server-Content Server and the size will be based on the volume of data/document to be sent to this server.

Content Server configuration can be then done thru OAC0 and OACT..

content server and database are entirely independent, there wont be any problem if you set content server..

hope this helps U..!!

Thank You,

Manoj

pls consider points if useful..!!

Former Member
0 Kudos

I've defined the content server in OAC0;

Content Rep. Z1

Document Area: Document management system

Storage type: HTTP content server

version no. 0046

HTTP server: sapdms

port number: 1090

HTTP Script: ContentServer/ContentServer.dll

Transfer drctry: C:\temp\

Is it correct? what next if correct. Thanks!

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

Hope you have content server installed on seperate system..