cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

leave a node empty

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am new in WD and I'm trying various scenario for studying this argument. I have this problem: I created a node representing a table with a subnode representing another table. The user give a constraint on which the first table is filled; according to value of the first table, second table is filled. The problem is when the first table is empty: when the constraint given by the user causes a no match on the db table, the internal table to bind to the node is empty, so I don't bind anything, leaving the node empty, but in this way, I get a runtime error, because the subnode tells that lead selection of parent node is not set (because is empty!). I thought that if a node is empty the supply function of the subnode are not called, but it seems it is. So .. how can I leave a node empty without having problem with subnode?

Thanks

Gabriele

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Gabriele,

Every time when you read a node you will be having the following code:

Here my node is node_t001 declared in the context.

• IF lo_el_node_t001 IS INITIAL.

• ENDIF.

you can check whether there is any reference in the lo_el_node_t001, if there is no such reference then you will get a short dump which is one of the reasons of getting a short dump.

Write your logic of binding the table in the else part of the above If statement, and this avoids a shrot dump at runtime, especially, when there is no lead selection, or value.

I hope it helps, as it worked in my scenario.

Good day!

Regards,

Shashi

Former Member
0 Kudos

thanks,