Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Security Guidance

Former Member
0 Kudos

Just a quick question and I hope it's ok to post it here.

I hate to say that I am new to SAP Security, about 8 months of experience on my first implementation. I worked very hard to learn enough to get my first job and couldn't be happier now. After 8 months I really feel that I am getting very good and knowledgeable about SAP and Security. The focus I had when I started-knowing exactly what I had to learn and should learn has been lessening. I'm finding it harder everyday to find the focus on what I should be learning and need to know. I try to spend at least an hour a night learning more about SAP by reading a book, or learning about a concept and even just playing in our sandbox.

When I started in SAP I set a goal of becoming a master, a guru and someone my team can always turn to for an answer. I know it won't happen overnight or even in a year but it is my goal.I read the posts on here from a few people and admire the depth and breadth of their knowledge. I want that and yes, I am very impatient!

For those of your that have been in Security for awhile what would you recommend I learn and master? What should I focus my energy on learning? Is it simply technical or should I learn some of the more functional lessons? Should I pick a module or two and master it from a technical standpoint?

My problems is that I want to learn it all - I cannot figure out for the life of me right now what is most relevant and will provide my employer the best return on their investment in me. I really would appreciate your advice and guidance.

Todd

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Todd,

There was a related question a while back which I put my thoughts on: