cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scenarios for Mobile Applications

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am very new to SAP Mobile Applications. I have couple of questions around the scenarios. If we analyze SAP has got solutions for Asset Management, Warehouse capabilities, BI Capabilities, Direct Store Delivery, Mobile Sales, Mobile Service and Procurement. I am just curious to know if we could custom develop application for any scenario that is not provided by SAP.

My second question would be what type of mobile solution that is used by majority of customers?

thanks

anantharam

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear Anantharam,

1. Yes you can develop mobile applications for other scenarios.

2. Smart Sync Applications are widely used by customers. MAM is the number 1 scenario / SAP solution used by customers.

Regards,

Veera

Edit: Thanks Akhil, you beat me to that

Edited by: Veeraraagavan R on Jan 12, 2009 8:15 AM

Answers (4)

Answers (4)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

SAP Mobile Infrastructure

Purpose

The SAP Mobile Infrastructure (SAP MI) is a technology solution of SAP NetWeaver on which SAP Solutions for Mobile Business is based. With SAP MI, however, you can also make applications that are not SAP-based mobile.

SAP MI is installed locally on a mobile device and is equipped with a Web server, a database layer and its own business logic. Staff working remotely can therefore work offline and do not have to wait for a network connection to complete time-critical business applications. SAP MI offers tools for synchronization and data replication that make the data of the mobile device consistent with that of the back end.

SAP MI is based on the following open industry standards:

· Java

· eXtensible Markup Language (XML)

SAP MI is also equipped with a Java virtual machine and offers an open programming model with which mobile applications can be developed.