cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Content Conversion with Substructures

Former Member
0 Kudos

I'm very new at all of this, and I have a bit of a complex mapping. In an attempt to make it a little tidier, I made several substructures when I set up the data type.

For example, most of the lines start with a 'record id' made up of 4 fields. So I created a structure with those 4 fields, and then another structure with the rest of those fields, and then put both structures together to define the line.

I thought I was making things cleaner, but when I got to the file content conversion, I realized I'd just made a big mess.

Here is a somewhat simplified example of my structure, after it comes out of the mapping.

<EmployeeData01>

<RecordID>

<RecordType>01</RecordType>

<SSN>1234-56-7890</SSN>

<EmployeeID></EmployeeID>

</RecordID>

<Employee>

<FirstName>Mickey</FirstName>

<MiddleName>M</MiddleName><LastName>Mouse</LastName>

<Prefix>Sir</Prefix>

<Title>Jr</Title>

<Gender>M</Gender>

</Employee>

</EmployeeData01>

Originally I tried just using the employeedata01, and that gets me an error in the adapter monitor about the RecordID structure not being defined.

Then I tried not defining employeedata01 and instead defining RecordID and Employee. That works, sort of. But it puts the RecordID segment and the Employee Segment on seperate lines.

Is there a way to do this with the structure I have? I know I can solve it by going back and completely rewriting my structure, but I'd really rather not have to do that.

Thanks for any help at all.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi vanda,

u wanno get the xml structure as a flat file in ur reciever file adapter.so in the conetnt conversion

in the recordset structure

mention the records u require

so in ur case it is

<b>employeedata01,recordid,employee</b>