cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

XI 3.0 SR1 Install and Config.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Guru's,

I have read the XI 3.0Sr1 installation guide, the only part i didn't quite catch was about the Adapter Engine installation for Business System. Can anyone be kind enough to explain that to me ? I am quite new to this XI concept..

The scenario is :

Systems : SAP R/3 Enterprise 47x200 Sr1 - WebAS 620

SAP CRM 4.0 - WebAS 620

SAP BW 3.5 - WebAS 640.

External Non-SAP Systems

I will be doing the XI install on a single server, which will have the WebAS 640 ABAP + Java, Adapter Engine and rest of the stuff.

Question is the XI install doc says that the Business Systems should have a WebAS 640 JAVA instance to host the Adapter Engine. Now where does this fit into..do i need a separate server for this, as our R3 and Crm systems are on WebAS 620.

Thanks for your help..

Regards

Nainesh

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

andreas_stolz
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hello Nainesh,

I think, that's a missunderstanding. The central adapter engine already hosts all adapters. To connect a business system via these adapters, the central ae is sufficient.

Only if you want to install a separate decentral ae you need an additional hardware and an additional j2ee engine. You might want to use a decentral ae when the business system is connected to the xi via a wan connection, or for other reasons.

Rgds.,

Andreas

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Nainesh -

The Adapter Engine(AE) installation section(s) refer to an optional decentral/local AE. The central AE will automatically get installed with the main XI installation (on your single server). Technically, the central AE will meet the requirements of many/most XI customers.