cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Java Webdynpro to SQL Server with normal JDBC or SQLJ?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi guys,

I am going to create some tables on the SAP Portal SQL Server database and I will need to add, edit, update etc....

I am new to Java Webdynpro and would like to know the BEST PRACTICE for connecting to the SQL Server database. I am familiar with the normal JDBC ways of doing this.....but am now also reading about the SAP Java Persistence Framework.

So should I use normal JDBC like in a normal Java servlet apps etc.....or must I rather go with the SAP Java Persistence Framework using SQLJ etc??

Also, I created a "Dictionary Project" to create my database tables.....then deployed the SDA file to SQL Server....all 100%......do I need to add that project to my Webdynpro project? If so how is that done?

Basically I am wanting the easiest a recommended way of using Java Webdynpro and SQL Server....

Thanks so much for the help, I really appreciate it!!

Lynton

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Lynton,

I have done the webdynpro to sqlserver 2005 database connection and the way I did is like this :

1.Create an EJB Module project.In that create a stateless session bean and give your JDBC connection in that.Also provide the sql statements.

2.Create the jar for this EJB Module project

3.Create an Enterprise Application Project and add the jar file to this Enterprise Application Project.

4. Create the Ear file out of this Enterprise Application Project.

5. Deploy the ear file onto J2EE engine.

Also, You have to give the datasource name and the username and password in the Visual Administrator-JDBC Connector.

Now,

6.Create the webdynpro project and give references to the Ear and EJB Module project in Build Path,Webdynpro References and in Project References