Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Single Sign On with VB or self developing program

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Experts,

Is this possible to do single sign on with NetWeaver from VB or self developing program? For example, a VB windows program opens a NW portal program and then the user does not need to key username/passward. How to achive it

Best Regards

7 REPLIES 7

jurjen_heeck
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

In my opinion it should not matter if an application is triggered by a mouseclick or a VB application......

0 Kudos

However, how to pass logon ticket from VB to NW Portal?

0 Kudos

To be honest, I am no expert on the matter of SSO.

I can not answer your question but was wondering : "If someone opens a portal manually, by double-clicking an icon, how does he/she pass on the ticket?"

My question/doubt is: do you have to take special measures within your application to facilitate the single sign on? Or does this happen in the background anyway?

For the real techniques/technologies I have to pass but there are other experts frequenting this forum so I trust they'll help you.

0 Kudos

To my knowledge, SAP Logon Tickets are intended to be a proprietary mechanism, so only the SAP NW Portal is intended to issue them after the authentication requirements are succesfully passed - which ever those happen to be.

As you can see, I have chosen my wording carefully as I might not be completely correct and I would think that SAP can anyway change the design as they please if they want to keep it proprietary - in which case your VB scripts will all break if they depend on this.