cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Supply Chain Management

Former Member
0 Kudos

Experts,

I need your help to get clarrifications to below things.

--> What is the Suppy Chain Management in SAP?

--> What is the difference between ERP and SCM?

I have gone through the some of the links which I found SDN.

But, I am unable to understand what exactly business scenario.

I am new to this concept. Please help me..

--> If you have time, please explain in a descriptive way..

Thanks in Advance.....

Sridhar......

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi this is mohit...

first of all let me start with the differentiation between SCM & ERP

In Business terms SCM is a field which caters to interlinkages of processes from supplier to the customer. It is a vast field which encompansses all the activities right from Expecting and predicting customer buying to suppling the product at the right time, right quantity with right quality and right prices.

It cover areas such as Forecasting, Planning, Production, Logistics & Distribution, backed by the support processes such as marketting, & finance.

SCM is a Management Science.

In Business Terms ERP is an application which caters to the needs of integrating the entire organization into a single system. ERP captures, monitors, transfer and records the transaction of the companies which helps the flow of information real time. Enterprise resouce planning facilitates the various function of the companies by providing the needed integration and flow of information across the organization.

Now, talking about the offerings of ERP vendors