cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with extra columns at page breaks when exporting to excel

Former Member
0 Kudos

I'm new to Crystal Reports, so I'm still learing, so bear with me. I have a crosstab report that is pretty wide and goes beyond the standard 1 page width. I am trying to get this report set up to schedule an export to excel. I changed my page setting in my printing prefferences to account for the width by changing the width to 36", and this works great, but as soon as I close out and go back in, it defaults back to the original settings and adds and extra column where the page break would be in the report. Is there any way around this? I have the 'Create page breaks for each page' option unchecked on the export options, but it doesn't seem to be working.

Any ideas?

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

The best thing to do when preparing a template is evaluate which fields will be most common too all reports you will produce... make one that you can dynamically link to different output tables from server queries. If you have that kind of background that it.

Just setup the initial page to be the standard 36" x 36" document... don't bother with trying to set page breaks in crystal... it won't work very efficiently. If you are exporting to Excel, then it won't matter, because once you setup the Excel sheet the page breaks will be different anyway. If you export on a fixed column width of 36 points you can always expect that a field that is more than .5" too just under 1" by the ruler in Crystal will come out to about 2 columns in Excel.

You may also want to force date values to strings if you export fields with lead zero entries.