cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting values from a function module called in a WDA method

Former Member
0 Kudos

Friends,

I am trying to execute a function module from WDA.

I have created a service call for the function module. The function module takes values from the user, looks up the corresponding values of another field and returns the values in an internal table.

I am using the "Method Call in Used Controller" of WD Code wizard to call the function module.

When the event handler method containing the call to the function module is executed, nothing happens.

I am not sure how to pass values to the function module and to get the return values from the function module.

I am new to using function modules from WDA. Please help me out.

Thanks and Regards.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

alejandro_bindi
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Lets see, I think you're mixing a few things up.

Using function modules from WDA is no different that normal ABAP.

First, when you went through the service call wizard you specified a function module...in there, you were given the option to choose whether the function parameters should be either a) context attributes b) controller attributes or c) method parameters.

From the coding you posted I can assume a few things: You either chose options a) or b), and chose the COMPONENTCONTROLLER as the controller to hold the service call.

So, you should go to the COMPONENTCONTROLLER and look for the FN_MODULE_NAME method coding, where the actual function module call should be. In the same controller you should have either some Context nodes or controller Attributes for each corresponding function parameters.

So, the calling order is:

Event handler -> Component controller's Method ("service call") -> Function module