cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

APO with Variant Configuration - Characterisitcs based SNP

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

Been doing APO for a long time, but I am just beginning my journey into Pharma Industry and I am looking specifically

how APO in the SNP module can do Supply Planning for ...

1. Variant Configuration (Configurable Materials with Characterisitcs).

2. Engineering Change Management (ECM) for changes to

BOMs, Routings, Material Substitutions ... etc.

I am not clear on how APO in general handles SNP Planning for the Pharma (or Discrete) Industry wherein for different Countries a Main Drug (or Car for Discrete) can have many Variants for different Customers / Countries.

I hear "Demand Planning" has a Characteristics Based Planning (CDP / CBF ?) ... which I ASSUME helps in Forecasting of Configurable Products with certain Characteristics. I am not clear on how the SNP Planning for this with Capacity Planning using PPMs/PDS is done.

Can SNP do this ?

Are there any Limitations in APO Functionality for this ?

We will be using SCM-APO 5.0 or higher.

Anyone with experience in APO and Pharma / Discrete Industry if you can please help me.

Regards,

Ambrish Mathur

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

nitin_thatte
Contributor
0 Kudos

Dear Ambrish,

SNP as such cannot work with characteristics/configuration. You have to use PPDS for that.

Nitin Thatte

Answers (5)

Answers (5)

Former Member
0 Kudos

APO SNP does not support CDP.

Cheers

SCMBEE

Former Member
0 Kudos

Anyone with ECC/R3 PP-PI as well as APO PPDS Background who can Guide me ?

Ambrish

former_member978618
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hi,

1. SNP doesn't support CDP.

2. You have to use CBF in DP for forecasting and CDP in PPDS for planning purposes.