Once a document is check-ed in to the vault, how is it checked out again, and what functionality is associated with checkout? Can it still be viewed? Does use of KPro affect the checkout functionality?
As you open the document stored in vault in change mode it is automatically in check out. Others can still view it in display mode. You can do this in CV02N transaction.