Skip to Content

Archived discussions are read-only. Learn more about SAP Q&A

Deleted User License

Hi experts,

I deleted a user from the Admin-Setup-General-User menu. At the time, a license was still allocated to this user. Now when I want to reallocate this license, it is no longer available and the user is no longer listed in the license administration window. How can I unallocate the liccense from the deleted user? Thanks.

replied

Allen

Try this

Symptom

When trying to allocate licenses to users, the number of licenses

available is less than the (number of total - number of licenses already

assigned).

(Menu Path: Administration -> License -> License Administration)

Other terms

license allocation, licenses available, license administration, SAP

Business One, missing, less.

Reason and Prerequisites

Consulting

Solution

A user with a license allocated to her/him has been deleted from the

system without deallocating the license first, or a company with users

assigned has been deleted without deallocating the licenses first.

Each time a license is allocated/deallocated an entry is generated in an

xml file "B1Upf.xml"

(Path: C:\Program Files\SAP\SAP Business One ServerTools\License\

B1Upf.xml).

If a user/database is deleted without previous deallocation of a license

that entry is not removed from the file thus taking up a license space.

To resolve the issue follow these steps:

1. Close all SAP Business One clients.

2. Make a copy of the file (C:\Program Files\SAP\SAP Business One

ServerTools\License\B1Upf.xml) and save it with a different name or in a

different folder.

3. Delete the original file.

4. Stop/Start the license server.

5. Connect to SAP Business One and assign the licenses (Administration

-> License -> License Administration). You will need to reassign

licenses for all your users.

Regards,

Karl

0 View this answer in context
Not what you were looking for? View more on this topic or Ask a question