cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Formula - A number is required here

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am a novice with Crystal Reports. I have entered the formula below.

if {InsLine.LineAnnualizedPrem} >= '0' then Maximum ({InsCovTerm.CovTermVersion})

else 0

I am receiving an error when I test the formula. The error is "A number is required here' and the '0' is highlighted. The field is a numeric field (verified in browse field). What is causing this to error. I have the LineAnnualizedPrem as the 3rd sort in the report and it is ouput on the report. Any ideas on why it is requesting the number? Thank you.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member260594
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Darla,

Right click on Database Fields in the Field Explorer and check show field type. Then check that the field {InsCovTerm.CovTermVersion} is in fact a number. If it isn't you will need to use the tonumber function to convert it.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Both of the fields are numeric.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi..

Please use this

if {InsLine.LineAnnualizedPrem} >= 0 then

Maximum({InsCovTerm.CovTermVersion}) else 0

Regards,

Sastry

Former Member
0 Kudos

Sastry -

I tried what you requested and I am now receiving and error "A boolean is required here.'. It highlights the entire If and Else statement.

if {InsLine.LineAnnualizedPrem} >= 0 then

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Darla,

Please try this :

Numbervar x;

if not isnull({InsLine.LineAnnualizedPrem}) and {InsLine.LineAnnualizedPrem} >= 0 then

x:=tonumber(Maximum({InsCovTerm.CovTermVersion})) else

x:=0

Thanks,

Sastry

Former Member
0 Kudos

Sastry,

I am now receiving and error A number, current amount, boolean, date, time, date-time, or string is expected here. It is highlighting the 'x' prior to :=tonumber

{InsPolicy.PolExpDate} > DateTime (2008, 09, 01, 00, 00, 00) and

{Entities_BCO.EntLookup} = "enco" and

{CdPolLineType_LOB.CdPolLineTypeCode} in ["home", "rent"] and