cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Date prompts

Former Member
0 Kudos

Im new to crystal. I am trying to build a report that will ask for a date range. A begin date and an end date then include the data within that rang. Can anyone put me on the right track? a sample report maybe?

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi David,

In order to create a report which contains a data parameter with a range, following are the steps for it.

This is in case you are using Crystal reports.

1. After opening the CR application add the table from the data source

2. Include some fields in the details section.

On the View menu, click Field Explorer.

The Field Explorer dialog box appears.

3 Right-click Parameter Fields and click New.

The Create New Parameter dialog box appears.

4 Enter a name for the parameter in the Name field (up to 255 alphanumeric characters).

This example uses a date field as you would like to have a date range parameter.

5 Select the appropriate Type from the list.

You can use Date Or DateTime as it is present in the database.

Note: When creating a parameter whose Type is either Date or DateTime, you can change the date format to suit your needs.

6 From the Value Field list, select date Field ex. Orders Date

7 Click Actions and select Append all database values to move all of the countries in the sample database to the Values area.

This example enables the user to choose from any of the order date field. If you want to limit the selection, manually enter only the countries that you would like the user to choose from.

8 In the Options area, enter the desired prompting text in the Prompt Text field (up to 255 alphanumeric characters).

9 This is the text that appears in the Enter prompt values dialog box when the report is refreshed. This example uses the default value.