cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

XI 3.0 Installation Problem: no central managment server running

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi, I am totally new to BO our company just purchased the application and I have installed XI 3.0 on one of our server. I have setup the DB and the installation finished successfully. However I can't find CMS anywhere on the server. It seems like all the other XI 3.0 components are there Business view manager, central configuration manager, etc. they are all in the program list.

The only thing I didn't install is Tomcat. In Central configuration Manager ther Server Intelligence Agent is running. When I try to connect to the server in Business view Manager I receive the following error "The system servername cannot be contacted, but there is no Central Managment Server running at port 6400."

During the installation for "Web Application Server" part I checked the "other" option since I want to use IIS. I have a feeling I need to do some type of post configuration for IIS? Where do I perform this?

Our setup is:

Window Server 2003 SP2 with all the latest window updates

The latest XI 3.0 (I downloaded it from the product page)

My questions are:

1. Does XI work with IIS at all?

2. Do I need to install Tomcat and run some kind of connector to have IIS work?

3. What am I missing for my XI 3.0 it seem the core component is missing (CS)?

Edited by: Amy Williams on Sep 24, 2008 11:18 AM

Moved from Xcelsius forum to BOE Administration

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

The answer to your question would be "BusinessObjects Enterprise requires a Java web application server to process the server-side scripts that make up web applications. You can install the

Tomcat application server during the BusinessObjects Enterprise installation, or use a supported third-party web application server and Java Development Kit (JDK)."