cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I change the Database connection my report is using?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi

I am new to Crystal Reports for Eclipse. I have been writing this report to pull information from a test database. Now I want to use that report to grab database from my production database which has the exact same structure as the test database.

How do I make a report point to a different Connection name? I can't seem to find an option or property that allows me to bind a report to a database connection.

Help!!?

thanks

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

The Java Reporting Component has the capability of changing a database connection at runtime, meaning that when you use the JRC to view or export the report there are API that allow you to reset the connection as well.

[The Crystal Reports Web Samples|https://smpdl.sap-ag.de/~sapidp/012002523100006008982008E/crxi_r2_jrc_web_smpl.zip] (otherwise known as the JRC Web samples) do contain two samples that should be of use to you; the jrc_display_connection_info, which you can use to display connection info for your reports so that you know what database properties you need to change, and jrc_change_database_connection which has sample code that changes a connection at runtime.

Also available for further info is the SDK Library found at http://boc.sdn.sap.com

Former Member
0 Kudos

Ok.. the info you gave me seems to be usefull only if i am trying to create a web application.

But let's say i am not trying to create a web application at this time. I am using the "preview" tab to look at the report. And I want to point that report to a different database than the one I originally desinged it for, HOW can I do that?

(granted both database have the same format table schema ect...)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Michel,