cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Difference between View Context and Component Context

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello All,

I am new to Web Dynpro. I have doubt in the "Context" concepts. Can anybody explain the "Context" concept and also the difference between View Context and Component Context. If possible, please explain me with some examples.

And also, do we have any related "Context" concept in ABAP or Java?

Priya

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (4)

Answers (4)

Former Member
0 Kudos

HI Priya

Do close your BSP Thread

With proper Reward points --It will encourage people to solve your problems..

Cheers:)

Mithlesh

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Priya,

The controller 'C' part of MVC in Web Dynpro is represented as follows:

Controller = context + custom code.

The context is the hierarchical data storage of the controller. Context stores the data temporarily which can be used by custom code.

Now the controllers are divided in to two

1. Controllers with a interface - View Controllers

2. Controllers without a interface - Custom Controllers

In the custom controller, there is a special type called Component controller. Now the context of view controller is called View Context and the context of component controller is the Component context.

Component's context can be used across the whole web dynrpo component(across all views). Where as view controller's context is used only for the view.

RK

Former Member
0 Kudos

hi

I exactly understood the explanation but I got 1 doubt .What is this view controller.Is it different to component controller.As per my knowledge, when we create a component then Component controller gets created by default.and for custom controller we have to create it.What about this view controller ?In studio also we cant see it explicitly.Please explain it?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Priya,

Whatever data that you are using in view or controller you can store it in context.