cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

One Crystal Report portable to different databases (same database design)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Good day,

I apologize first off, as I am NOT a programmer, just a user.

In summary:

Crystal Report for data from Sql database.

Currently using ODBC connection and linking to database.

However, we have multiple databases, all with the same table structure etc, just different data.

Right now we change the datasource for each database.

The crystal report is run from an in house program

Is there a way we can have the report set so that it will pull the datasource at runtime, and not be hard coded into the crystal report.

Our goal is to take the one report and have our users of each database be able to access their own data without creating multiple copies of the report with each dataset.

Thanks,

RY

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Many thanks.

Am I correct in stating that to do your proposed action, I would require Crystal Enterprise server? I do not have access ot the Enterprise Server.

Is there another method for accomplishing this?

I looked on the document here: https://www.sdn.sap.com/irj/sdn/go/portal/prtroot/docs/library/uuid/00635998-751e-2b10-9cba-f50ee1e4...

However, having no programming experience, I am unsure as to how to implement the programming that they are stating.

Any other help greatly appreciated.

RY

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Ryan,

As per my understanding you have multiple databases with the same database schema however with the different data. You would like to create reports where the user should be able to select which database to use and this should not be hard coded.

In this case you can use the Business View wherein you have the feature of Dynamic data connection which basically is a pointer to different Data Connections